This document describes how to adjust the settings of merge requests in a code repository.
Project admins can configure the basic settings as well as default merge modes and target branches of merge requests in Settings > Merge Requests.
If this is enabled, the source branch will be deleted after it is merged into the target branch.
If this is enabled, when there is a direct linear path from the source branch to the target branch, the source branch will directly point to the target branch without a merge commit. This process is called the fast-forward merge.
Three merge modes are available for a source branch with multiple commits:
The default target branch for merge requests. We recommend you set the master branch as the default target branch for merge requests.