Versioning enables you to store multiple versions of an object in a COS bucket, and extract, delete, or restore a specific version of an object. With versioning, you can recover data that is lost due to accidental deletion or application failures. This document describes how to enable versioning for a bucket via the console. For more information about versioning, see Versioning Overview.
- Once versioning is enabled for a bucket, it cannot return to the prior status (initial status). However, you can suspend versioning for the bucket. In this way, subsequent uploads of objects whose name already exists in the bucket will not generate multiple versions.
- Once versioning is enabled, multiple versions will be generated for any uploaded object whose name already exists in the bucket. Each of these versions occupies your storage capacity and is billed for storage equally.
- To permanently delete a historical version, specify an ID.
If you need to permanently delete a historical version via the console, go to the File List page of the bucket, click List Historical Versions, and delete the desired version of an object.